1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Jef Goodger



Follow me on:

Silver Lake Atom Splitters Win Elias Cup

Monday April 14, 2014

Led by inaugural Mark Roth PBA League MVP Chris Barnes, the Silver Lake Atom Splitters triumphed over cross-town rivals L.A. X to win the Elias Cup.

Jason Belmonte of L.A. X rolled a 279 in the singles match against Barnes to give L.A. X the early lead, but the Atom Splitters quickly tied the match at one point apiece in the doubles match. L.A. again took the lead with a victory in trios, but Silver Lake ultimately emerged victorious with a 225-203 win in the Baker team match.

Elias Cup Finals Tomorrow on ESPN

Saturday April 12, 2014

Tensions in California will be running high tomorrow as the bitter rivalry between the Silver Lake Atom Splitters and L.A. X pits neighbor against neighbor in the Los Angeles area. The Elias Cup Finals will air at 2 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The winning team will hoist the Elias Cup, closing out the 2014 PBA League season. There is no word yet on a potential parade route for the victors.

PBA League Continues Sunday on ESPN

Friday April 4, 2014

At 1 p.m. ET on ESPN Sunday, the Philadelphia Hitmen take on the Silver Lake Atom Splitters for a berth in the Elias Cup Finals against the L.A. X.

L.A. X eliminated last year's Elias Cup Champions, the New York City WTT KingPins, in last week's broadcast, guaranteeing we will not see a repeat champion this year.

L.A. X Ousts New York, Awaits Opponent in Finals

Wednesday April 2, 2014

Last year's Elias Cup Champions, the New York City WTT KingPins, will not repeat, as they were eliminated by L.A. X in the semifinals of the 2014 Elias Cup tournament.

L.A. X awaits the winner of the match between the Silver Lake Atom Splitters and Philadelphia Hitmen.

PBA League Semifinals Sunday on ESPN

Friday March 28, 2014

Four teams remain in the PBA League Elias Cup tournament, and one will make its way to the finals this Sunday, at 5 p.m. ET, on ESPN.

The defending-champion New York City WTT KingPins battle the displeased-with-how-they-finished-last-year L.A. X in an effort to move into the title match and have a chance at winning the Elias Cup.

Marshall Kent Wins Euro Challenge

Monday March 24, 2014

Marshall Kent, the collegiate star who has already made two PBA telecasts, triumphed over everyone this past weekend in Munich at the Brunswick Euro Challenge. Kent defeated Sweden's Daniel Fransson in the final match to claim the title, although it will not count as a PBA Tour title because of his amateur status. And... debate. Go.

Philadelphia Advances

In televised bowling yesterday, the Philadelphia Hitmen won their opening-round match in the Elias Cup tournament over their in-state rivals, the Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits. Philadelphia moves into the semifinals, where they will face the Silver Lake Atom Splitters in two weeks.

Pittsburgh vs. Philadelphia Sunday on ESPN

Thursday March 20, 2014

The final opening-round match of the PBA League Elias Cup tournament airs this Sunday, March 23 at 1:00 p.m. ET on ESPN, featuring the Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits and the Philadelphia Hitmen.

The winner of the match advances to the semifinals against the Silver Lake Atom Splitters.

Thomas Larsen Wins Second PBA Tour Title

Tuesday March 18, 2014

Add another title to the career record of Thomas Larsen, who prevailed this past weekend over Dom Barrett in the Kuwait International Open finals. This is Larsen's second career title, the other coming last December in the Abu Dhabi WBT event.

Because Larsen is a PBA member, his victories on the World Bowling Tour count as PBA Tour titles, and this one puts him into that coveted land among bowlers as a multi-time title winner.

Take a gander at the up-to-date list of 2014 PBA Tour winners.

Busy Stretch for World Bowling Tour

Wednesday March 12, 2014

Immediately following last month's USBC Masters, many of the top PBA Tour bowlers took off for another few weeks of competition throughout the world.

In the first event of the swing, PBA bowler John Szczerbinski came up just short of his first career PBA Tour title, falling to Al Hassan in the 12th Kingdom of Bahrain International Open (Hassan does not get credit for a PBA Tour title, as he is not a PBA member).

As I type, the Kuwait International Open is underway, with Sean Rash having early qualifying success as he attempts to defend his title in the event.

The fun concludes with the Brunswick Euro Challenge, beginning March 19.

No Televised PBA Bowling This Week

Thursday March 6, 2014

Now that we've gotten accustomed to two hours of highest-possible-level bowling every Sunday, we're going to have to relax for a couple weeks. The PBA will be on a two-week hiatus, returning March 23 with the final opening-round match in the PBA League Elias Cup tournament.

Battling for a spot in the semifinals against the Silver Lake Atom Splitters will be the Philadelphia Hitmen and Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.